Maryanne's Jukebox

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

My Favorite Elvis Story

Elvis and Hank Snow

Once again, it’s that time of year when millions of Elvis fans celebrate the death of the legendary artist.

Anyone who was alive on August 16, 1977, remembers where they were.

I was 13 and in Florida with my beloved Grandmother. It was a shock to hear that Elvis Presley died at the age of 42.

Two years later I took the trip with my Grandmother and other family members, to Graceland. (This was before they allowed people into the house, but I got to meet Elvis’s uncle Vester Presley!)

Almost everyone you meet has an Elvis story. And here is my favorite:

Back in 1995, I was 31-years-old and working as assistant to Ken Knabb, vice president of Outlaw Biker Enterprises, in Hoboken, New Jersey.

Ken was probably in his late 60s or early 70s at the time. And he was the only person I ever met who saw both Elvis AND Marilyn Monroe.

His Elvis story was legendary.

Ken was a huge Hank Snow fan. One time he went to see Hank Snow and heard dozens of girls screaming. He didn’t know what the screaming was all about until Elvis Presley hit the stage.

Ken actually got to see Elvis as a warm-up act to Hank Snow! Imagine that?

So, today, I want to pay a little tribute to both artists.

Here’s the King doing “A Fool Such as I”:

A Fool Such as I

And here is Hank Snow’s version:

A Fool Such as I

Both versions give me goosebumps. What do you think?

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “My Favorite Elvis Story

  1. Both great, and since Hank is Canadian, I like it even better! On my 12th birthday our family went to Mackinaw City in Michigan, filled up on fudge and then on way back we were crossing the bridge when news came on the radio. My mom was devestated. She stayed up for 24 hours listening to the radio tribute.

  2. A good idea to have both versions.

Leave a Reply

