Maryanne's Jukebox

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO CLEM BURKE!

Another ultra cool musician from NEW JERSEY!

One time in the early 1990s I was on my way to a show in NYC via Path station. My friend recognized Clem Burke and wanted to go talk to him.

I said, “No, don’t bother him.”

I don’t like to bother famous musicians in their spare time. If they are at an event where it’s all about them, or if I am interviewing them, that’s a different story. But from what I’ve read he’s very humble.

Clem, to me, was always an exceptional drummer. Definitely one of my favorites.

Here’s why:

Clem Burke Drumming Project

Clem is probably best known for his work in Blondie, but he has performed with so many other famous musicians and bands including Iggy Pop, Pete Townsend, Chequered Past, The Fleshtones and Joan Jett — to name a few!

Here’s a great live performance showing off his amazing drum techniques:

Dreaming by Blondie featuring Clem Burke on drums

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO CLEM BURKE!

  1. H was also Elvis Ramone for a few gigs ha

Leave a Reply

