Maryanne's Jukebox

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Happy Birthday Rick Nielsen, Cheap Trick

Rick_NielsenRick Nielson (photo swiped from Google Search)

Happy Birthday to Rick Nielson of Cheap Trick who turns 66 today!

I always loved Cheap Trick and was thrilled that I got to see them a few times, and have a great Cheap Trick story to tell!

The last time I saw them was at a night club in New Jersey in the 1990s. I was a lot younger, single and wearing an incredibly sexy purple rubber dress (any girl knows that rubber dresses really do justice to your figure!) In fact, when I went to the bathroom, another woman approached my date and asked him where I got my dress.

I was right in front of the stage and never realized how sexy Rick Nielson was until I saw him that close up. This particular night he had a super long goatee, braided, with a price tag on it! Weird, but sexy in a “who the fuck cares” sort of way.

Rick started throwing his guitar picks into the audience and then spotted me and tried to throw a pick down my cleavage. Needless to say, he succeeded and I still have that pick!

Here is one of my favorite Cheap Trick songs, the Christmas version:

Come On Christmas

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Rick Nielsen, Cheap Trick

  1. Happy Birthday to Rick!!!!
    I love Cheap Trick.
    It’s great that you got to see them a few times. Love the story!
    Any photos of you in the purple rubber dress? LOL!

  2. Gina S. on said:

    OMG, I never heard of that! I can’t wait to see it. Maybe you should wear it for Christmas! LOL!

    • You never saw Pamela Anderson in Barbed Wire? Rubber dresses were the thing in the 1990s! I thought everyone had one! As for Christmas, I have a gorgeous whimsical vintage dress to wear. I’m beyond psyched!!

Leave a Reply

