Maryanne's Jukebox

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Happy Birthday to Chris Stein!

Chris Stein and Debbie HarryChris Stein and Debbie Harry (photo swiped from Google search)

Guitarist and co-founder of Blondie, Chris Stein, turns 63 today.

I’ve been a fan of Blondie since their first record came out and I was only 12 or 13 in 1976. I’ve seen Blondie perform live quite a few times over the years and even had a backstage pass once.

One time I met Chris Stein by chance. It was in a NYC night club in the 1990s when he and Debbie Harry had another musical project called “The Jazz Passengers.”

I was hanging out in the back, by the bar, with a friend and there was Chris Stein at the bar. My friend bought him a beer and he chatted with us a long time and even hugged me and gave me a big kiss. Debbie was more in the background. She seemed shy and gave me a shy smile and said, “I had too much wine with dinner.” But when she got onstage she was energetic and very entertaining.

Happy birthday to a great talent and very down to earth person!

Here’s a video of Chris and Debbie performing “Heart of Glass” which they co-wrote together years before it became a hit. This version is very different — enjoy!

Heart of Glass

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

