Maryanne's Jukebox

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Happy Birthday Yoko Ono

Yoko OnoYoko Ono

Today Yoko Ono turns 80!

So much bad stuff written about this lady, but I can’t participate in hating on someone who was the wife of my favorite Beatle, John Lennon. People are people and we all make mistakes.

I actually met her in a bathroom once in NYC when I went to see a play she wrote about the life of John Lennon. She was very nice to me and my friend Linda. (Interesting side note, I also met John Lennon’s other great love, May Pang, at a party — and she was super duper cool! I spilled wine on my dress and May helped me clean myself up. Then she gave me a ride to another party in her SUV).

Anyway, I do like Yoko’s work. In some of the experimental recordings she did with John, it reminds me a bit of Diamanda Galas and also some of the experimental music Lydia Lunch did with Roland S. Howard. (I have the CD upstairs, but can’t remember the name of the track I’m thinking of).  I also think she was very pretty in her hey day. And stylish.

I just heard this song today by Yoko and think it’s pretty cool.

Yes, I’m a Witch

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Yoko Ono

  1. Wow…I can’t believe she’s 80! Have a great day….Hugs from Oz….Paula xx

  2. Well, it’s arguable that she played a part in the breakup of the Beatles, which led to her being so despised for years. She wasn’t the only reason though…they all got tired of Paul telling them how to play!

  3. You certainly have interesting ways of meeting celebreties!!!!!

Leave a Reply

