Maryanne's Jukebox

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Two Oldies, But Goodies, From Gilbert O’Sullivan

Gilbert O'SullivanGilbert O’Sullivan (photo swiped from Google search)

I just LOVE these two songs!

Get Down

CLAIR

Both songs remind me of very good things in my life.

Get Down, about a dog, is so about my needy cat Derick — oh how I love him so! So bad, but such a sweetie.

“Get Down” is one of those songs you have to play at least THREE times in a row!

And “Clair,” I used to baby sit a little girl named Claire, who made such a big impact on my life. She was an old soul in a little girl’s body, so wise beyond her years. I had so much fun with her until her family moved away.

A few years later, Dennis and I went to visit her. She was 13 at the time. Growing up and such a pretty little lady. Now Claire is in college. I dropped her an email about a year ago and told her how much she inspired me. (One of her favorite games was pretending we were old ladies complaining about the price of real estate!)

For a short or long time, you just never know who will touch your life! (And what songs will remind you of them!)

Note: on one of the You Tube songs, someone wrote that Gilbert O’Sullivan reminds them of Paul McCartney. I have to agree!

Single Post Navigation

11 thoughts on “Two Oldies, But Goodies, From Gilbert O’Sullivan

  1. Get Down is very McCartneyish. And Clair is Beatley too. He had a way with melody alright. Thanks for sharing your stories!

  2. Thanks for adding such a lovely soundtrack to the morning!

Leave a comment